North Carolina Gun Laws Explained

Generally, North Carolina is a gun-friendly state because its federal and state laws protect every individual’s right to bear arms. These laws also put some restrictions on who carries a gun and where a gun should be. 

Whether you already own a gun or you hope to have one someday, it is vital to understand the basics of the different gun laws in North Carolina. This blog will guide you through some of the Concealed Carry course North Carolina.

First Let’s Talk About Who Is Allowed to Have a Concealed Firearm

Upon issuing a legal permit in North Carolina, the following set of people are listened to with a concealed handgun.

  • People from 21 years old
  • People who have completed a minimum of eight-hour training course
  • People who have stayed in North Carolina for a minimum of 30 days
  • People who filed their application within their country of residence
  • Anyone who is either a citizen or a lawful resident of the United States
  • Anyone who doesn’t have any physical or mental disability that would prevent them from safely handling a firearm
  • People who have not been convicted for a felony or any other crimes three years before the time of application.

What Then Is a permit?

When it has to do with gun laws, a permit is a legal license for a person before being able to own a handgun in North Carolina. Before you buy a handgun in North Carolina, you need to have either a North Carolina Concealed Carry Handgun permit, an NC Pistol Purchase Permit, and a valid NC state-issued form of identification.

So far as you are in control of a handgun, it is important to carry your permit everywhere you go. However, in areas where handguns are prohibited, it is illegal to be seen with one, whether you have your permit or not. 

This leads to the best question on the Concealed Carry Course North Carolina.

Where in North Carolina Are You Allowed to Carry a Gun

In North Carolina, there are different places you can carry your handgun as long as you legally own one. However, you should note that different counties are allowed to regulate the use of firearms either on public properties or designate Off-Limit areas. 

You can carry your handgun in your car as long as it is not easily accessible and visible. This means that as a Trauma and Emergency Preparedness North Carolina, your handgun should be locked in your car’s trunk, console, or glove box.

Avoid putting your gun under your seat or in any unlocked car area as much as possible. You can also carry your gun to private and business properties like restaurants, except they have a “no weapon” policy.

Conclusion

If you are being charged with a gun violation, ensure you contact your NC criminal defense attorney immediately.

© 2022 All Rights Reserved by Just in Case:Armed Defense Instruction